Lakers Honored at Ohio FFA Convention

Lakers Honored at Ohio FFA Convention
Posted on 05/08/2023
This is the image for the news article titled Lakers Honored at Ohio FFA Convention
Kinney at FFA ConventionFFA Convention

The Indian Lake High School/Ohio Hi Point FFA Chapter celebrated a year of achievements during the recent State FFA Convention. As an added bonus, Indian Lake FFA President Allison Kinney helped report on the event and highlight some of her own chapter’s accomplishments. 

For the second year in a row, Kinney served as a student reporter for the Ohio Ag Network. She plans to study Agricultural Communication at Ohio State next year, so this opportunity to report at the State FFA Convention gave her valuable experience. 

Kinney says, “I was able to do audio interviews, in-person interviews, review videography, learn how to edit and how it gets posted. This is my second year doing it, so they called me the “pro” even though I was not close to that. But I was able to learn all those things that will fuel what I’m going to do later in life.” 

Kinney’s favorite part of the job was interviewing new State FFA President Luke Jennings just after he was introduced on stage as incoming President.

A total of five ILHS students received their FFA State degrees at the convention including Hunter Gross, Garrett Hough, Molly Partington, Ava Shroyer and Seth Thornburgh. 

The ILHS Grain Merchandising Team was recognized on stage for placing 1st in the State competition and qualifying for the national contest. Members of the team are Megan Kimbler, Beau Young, Jackson Young and Allison Kinney.

Members Ava Shroyer and Mark Wolf were on the big stage, earning awards for their  state-placing projects. In addition, Indian Lake Superintendent Dr. Rob Underwood was presented with an Honorary State Degree. The chapter nominated him for the award for his support of and dedication to advancing the program at Indian Lake over the years.

Other awards include Khierstan Ferguson and Allison Rowe earning 4th place in the Food Products division of the AgriScience Fair Project. 

Sierra DeWeese earned a Gold Rating on her Secretary Book. Annie Braig garnered a Gold Rating on her Treasurer Report and Molly Partington got a Gold Rating on her Reporter Scrapbook.