Annual FFA Banquet

Annual FFA Banquet
Posted on 05/16/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Annual FFA Banquet

FFA BanquetFFA BanquetFFA BanquetFFA BanquetFFA BanquetFFA BanquetFFA Banquet
Members of the Ohio Hi Point/Indian Lake High School FFA celebrated increased involvement and significant accomplishments during their annual banquet held recently in the ILHS Main Gym. 

After serving a meal to more than 200 in attendance, ILHS FFA officers officially opened the meeting. They recognized several individuals and groups from the community that have helped them through the year by serving as members of the advisory board, assisting in their education or helping with fundraisers.

Outgoing State FFA Officer Mallary Caudill gave the keynote address with a personal story about appreciating small moments in life. 

She said, “Small moments with my community or my friends in blue jackets have made the most impact on me. And you have the power to make small moments for someone else.”

The banquet continued with a variety of awards. More than 30 first year FFA members earned their Greenhand Degrees. Several students were recognized for their success placing in state ag contests, including Jacob King, Kayla Cummins, Kaley Rice, Brittany Sturms, Allix Cotterman and Nikita Scheifele. Allix Cotterman received special recognition for her first place State agriscience 

project. Juniors Megan Keckler and Nikita Scheifele were applauded for earning their FFA State Degrees. In addition, several members received Outstanding Student and/or Most Improved Awards. They were: Cheyenne Hill, Holly Seeley, Kayla Cummins, Briauna Chamberlin, Ethan Knief, Tori Blanks, Lexi Clem, Nikita Scheifele, Megan Keckler, Kaden Harford, Allix Cotterman, and Jarrett Monroe.  

Members of the newly formed Indian Lake FFA Alumni Chapter recognized OHP/ILHS FFA Advisor and Ag educator Tanner Schoen for his hard work and dedication to his students with a present for his upcoming wedding. 

At the conclusion of the banquet, the current team of officers announced elected leaders for the 2018-19 school year. They are: 

Student Advisor- Jacob King

Sentinel- Kayla Cummins

Reporter- Cheyenne Hill

Assistant Reporter- Meagan Thompson

Treasurer- Nikita Scheifele

Assistant Treasurer- Ethan Knief

Secretary- Briauna Chamberlin

Vice President- Holly Seeley

President- Lexi Clem