IL Opening Day 2022-23

IL Opening Day 2022-23
Posted on 08/15/2022
This is the image for the news article titled IL Opening Day 2022-23

Opening Day
opening day training
The 2022-23 school year is officially underway at Indian Lake Schools! 

Superintendent Rob Underwood welcomed back seasoned staff members and introduced new staff in the auditorium Monday morning. 

Underwood urged the educators to embrace change and develop new skills.  

“Be a learner. If you’re learning alongside your students, we will be better educators and we will continue to grow as a district.” 

He discussed procedures involving Covid-19, talked school safety and introduced the new School Resource Officer Logan Miller. 

Curriculum and Gifted Director Kelli Tebbe gave a quick overview of last year’s progress, noting that state test results were higher than the state average in every subject and every grade. 

Superintendent Underwood explained the theme for the new year continues the R-Factor and overall Lake Effect with “Find Your Anchor.” He encouraged everyone to find one thing that centers them and to use that as inspiration to be better everyday. 

The Logan County Health Department gave a brief training on Narcan, all employees gathered for ALICE training and employees finished the day with specific professional development, including LETRS reading training and Collins Writing training. 

Several staff members received awards for years of service. Employees who received a pin for service are: (5 Years) Ashley Brentlinger, Elizabeth DeLeeuw, Eric Finke, Tina Kelly-Lowe, Sarah Kinsey, Jami Hurley, Matt Hurley, Betty Kimball, Robin King, Justin Metzger, Lori Samples, Amber Shively, Mark Wahl, Steve Warniment, Lisa Westlake, Tracy Whitlow, and Stacy Wisener 

(10 years), Karmen Kirkpatrick, Missy Mefford, Kathy Neal, Bob Shaffer, and Matt Steinbarger, (15 years) Terry Nelson, (20 years) Kate Beam, Lisa Borgerding, Dana Clune, Don Dalton, Tracey Notestine, Jill Onyema, Jill Stockmaster, Amanda Strayer, and Mandy Tidwell, (25 years) Deb Anderson, Melanie Asman, Sue Ball, Barb Keykens, Kelly LeVan, Brenda Oda, and Mike Pequignot, and (30 Years) Julie Grider and Elaine Jacobs. In addition, retirees John Blackburn, Tony Jenkins, Marna Salmons, Pat Stanley, and Susan Young will receive Golden Apple Awards. 

The first day of school is Wednesday, August 17th.