May Board Meeting-Grad Plans & Students Recognized

May Board Meeting-Grad Plans & Students Recognized
Posted on 05/18/2021
This is the image for the news article titled May Board Meeting-Grad Plans & Students Recognized
May Board MeetingMay Board Meeting

The Indian Lake Board of Education recognized student achievements and approved the list of graduating seniors during their May regular meeting. 
The ILHS Seniors of the Month from February through May were special guests of Superintendent Rob Underwood. They each spoke about their future goals. Students are: Jacob King and Samantha Swygart (February), Chase Coburn and Raelyn Parsell (March), Brian Downey and Holly Harford (April) and Dustin Franks and Lillian Roby (May). 
In addition, several ILHS/OHP FFA students were also honored. ILHS had a record eight students receive their State FFA Degree this spring. Tori Blanks, Allix Cotterman, Kayla Cummins, Allison Culp, Cheyenne Hill, Luke Jackson, Ethan Knief and Ethan Snapp received certificates of achievement from the board. Allison Kinney and Ava Shroyer were also recognized for their first place finishes in state judging contests. 
ILHS Principal Kyle Wagner gave board members details on the upcoming Graduation ceremonies and offered some stats on the senior class. There are 113 seniors set to graduate. 19 were online students this year, 4 completed credit recovery to graduate on time or early, and 29 students are also receiving a diploma from Ohio Hi Point Career Center. All graduates will have met Indian Lake High School graduation requirements, not simply State of Ohio recommendations. 
Wagner says he is especially proud of his staff this year. 
"The high school staff really stepped up this year. From dealing with the challenges of student and staff quarantines and a shortage of subs, they covered for each other and pulled through." 
ILHS Commencement Ceremonies will take place Sunday, May 23rd at 2 pm at Laker Stadium. 
The Indian Lake Board of Education will meet again on Monday, June 21st at 5 pm in the board office.